Gluten-Free Banana Bread

bbreadcomposite

Food Mirrors Nature

My 8-yr-old has been craving banana bread for several days.  It’s not necessarily the most common baked good we have around the house, but I do make it occasionally.  So, having said that, I’m not sure what got it into her mind, but once the idea took root, I heard about it daily until I finally granted her request and whipped up a quick loaf.

After coming out of the oven, the bread sat on the cooling rack during those last few quiet moments before the school bus delivered my daughters home.  During those moments, I am actually able to finish thoughts that begin in my head.  And that’s when I noticed the striking resemblance between the fragrant bread and the landscape out my kitchen window.  The bread’s warm palette of yellows and light browns mirrored the winter neutrals outside: browns and beiges lit by the sun and covered slightly by leftover snow .  After snack was served and the decibel lever continued to rise inside the house, I took the opportunity for a quick jaunt outside, seeking out the colors I had just created in the loaf pan before the golden afternoon light was gone.

Gluten Free Banana Bread

Adapted from a recipe published in Healthy Cooking, December/January 2010

makes 1 loaf

ingredients:

I cup all-purpose gluten-free flour or gluten-free baking mix

4 teaspoons baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 eggs

I cup mashed banana (about 2-3 bananas)

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup applesauce

2 tablespoons vegetable oil

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Add flour, baking soda and salt in a medium mixing bowl.  Whisk gently to combine ingredients.  In a large mixing bowl, combine eggs, sugar, bananas, applesauce, oil and vanilla.  Whisk thoroughly.  Add dry ingredients to the wet ingredients, mixing gently until combined, do not over mix.  Fold in chopped walnuts.  Generously butter a loaf pan.  Pour batter in the pan and bake for about 45-55 minutes or a cake tester comes out clean.   Cool slightly before removing from pan.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

